U.S. Commercial Service

The U.S. Commercial Service is the lead trade promotion agency of the U.S. government. It has trade professionals in over 100 U.S. cities and more than 75 countries to help U.S. companies get started in exporting or increase sales to new global markets.  


Request USCS Engagement

View Related Webinar


Engaging with the U.S. Commercial Service

The U. S. Commercial Service (USCS) is part of the International Trade Administration, U. S. Department of Commerce.  They have offices throughout the country and in over 120 foreign consulates and embassies. There are two U.S. Commercial Service offices in Illinois, one in Chicago, and one in Peoria. (staff listed below)

They can help you develop and implement an effective export strategy, and identify solid leads for potential foreign buyers, distributors, joint venture partners, and licensees from both private and public sources. You can call them for help with your international trade questions! They are dedicated to helping small-to-medium sized Illinois companies to increase international sales. On a daily basis, USCS Trade Specialists work with exporters to optimize their global operations.  They can help you with:

  • Research new international markets
  • Promote your product or service at trade events around the world
  • Locate qualified international buyers and distributors
  • Receive help through every step of the export process

For more information on how they can help your company succeed in the global marketplace, please visit our services page. To learn first-hand how we can help your company grow internationally, click below, fill out the form and a trade specialist will contact you.

We are grateful to the U.S. Commercial Service for their generous sponsorship of the Export-U website for more than a decade.

Commercial Service – Chicago

Office Location
77 W. Jackson Boulevard, Suite 707
Chicago, IL 60604
Office.Chicago@trade.gov

Hovan Asdourian, Director
Hovan.Asdourian@trade.gov

Dan Kim, International Trade Specialist
Dan.Kim@trade.gov
Industry Portfolio: Advanced Manufacturing; Machinery; Chemicals/Plastics; Transportation Equipment/Services: Automotive, Railroad, Marine
Geographic Coverage: Asia

Haley MilanInternational Trade Specialist
Haley.Milan@trade.gov
Industry Portfolio: Agribusiness; Food & Beverage; Packaging & Processing Equipment, Education & Training Services
Geographic Coverage: Canada & Mexico

Andrey Piroozgar, International Trade Specialist
Andrey.Piroozgar@trade.gov
Industry Portfolio: Information & Communications Technology; eCommerce; Safety & Security; Aerospace & Defense Equipment; Consumer Goods
Geographic Coverage: Europe

Bailey Rowell, International Trade Specialist
Bailey.Rowell@trade.gov
Industry Portfolio: Environmental Technologies; Energy; Travel & Tourism
Geographic Coverage: Africa & Middle East

Monica Toporkiewicz, International Trade Specialist
Monica.Toporkiewicz@trade.gov
Industry Portfolio: Healthcare Technologies & Services; Architecture/Engineering Services; Construction Equipment & Building Products
Geographic Services: Central & South America

Commercial Service – Peoria (Downstate Illinois)

Elizabeth Ahern, Director
Elizabeth.Ahern@trade.gov
Industries: All industries in central/southern Illinois (south of I-80)

Commercial Service – Rockford (Northwest Illinois)

Adam Shanks, Director
Adam.Shanks@trade.gov
Industries: All industries in northwestern Illinois

Export-Import (EXIM) Bank – Partner

Michael Howard, Managing Director – Central Region
Michael.Howard@exim.gov

Ursula M. Wegrzynowicz, Regional Director
Ursula.Wegrzynowicz@exim.gov

Small Business Administration (SBA) – Partner

Gayle Roenbaugh, Export & Trade Finance Manager
Gayle.Roenbaugh@sba.gov